Ian and I were Watching “The Price Is Right”

And it dawned on me: for some of these people, appearing on this show is perhaps the highlight of their existence. If you asked them to name memorable days in their lives, sure they’d probably list their wedding day, birth of their children, maybe graduating from school of some sort, but you bet your sweet ass “spinning that big old wheel” would be up at the top of their list of memorable moments.

And then there’s the folks who, upon winning a china hutch or a trip to Arkansas or something, burst into tears and thank Jesus for their good fortune. I hate to burst their bubble, but I have a sneaking suspicion that there is a great possibility that Jesus was not involved in this transaction.

I’ve never understood fanatical devotion to any celebrity of sorts. I would not have cried or screamed had I been in the audience of the Ed Sullivan show when the Beatles made their legendary appearance. There is no person I can think of that meeting them would reduce me to tears. Does this make me a cynic? Or is it just the WASPY side of me moderating my enthusiasm? I’m not sure, but I do somehow feel a sense of superiority when I view these strangers being reduced to tears by a game show. Maybe I’m just an asshole. I suppose that’s a possibility.

Leave a comment